• New here? Register here now for access to all the forums, download game torrents, private messages, polls, Sportsbook, etc. Plus, stay connected and follow BP on Instagram @buckeyeplanet and Facebook.

Holiday Bowl: Texas v. Arizona State (+1.5)

fourteenandoh;1040377; said:
i want to know what replay angle they had. the ones they showed on TV didn't show him touch the ball. i think they screwed it up, personally

No way did he touch the ball. The path of the ball did not change and it would have if he had touched it. It was fun however watching Mack Brown almost tackle the kid and yell at him to get out of the way.
 
Upvote 0
Wingate1217;1040388; said:
No way did he touch the ball. The path of the ball did not change and it would have if he had touched it. It was fun however watching Mack Brown almost tackle the kid and yell at him to get out of the way.

i agree. the rotation of the ball didn't waver. there's no way he touched it. i don't care what replay angle they had. i'm really getting sick of the replay booth screwing up calls. they've done it all season. that should be impossible!
 
Upvote 0
Tlangs;1040384; said:
Texas got screwed. You can't use replay to call a penalty. It would be like reviewing a play for a reception vs. incomplete and calling pass interference. unless they threw a flag for the coach being on the field and touching the ball during live action, you can't go back and call the penalty after a replay. complete BS.

That highlighted and bolded is the key point - they used replay to call a different penalty than the one called on the field of play.

Which was for grounding - which would have led to loss of down and Texas ball. (Except it was a lateral and already Texas Ball).

Wikipedia (so we know this is irrefutable :tongue2:)
Most fouls (e.g., holding, offside, pass interference) are not reviewable, except that in 2006, illegal forward passes, handoffs and punts from beyond the line of scrimmage, and too many players on the field are reviewable and the foul may be called after replay review. Also, while the foul of pass interference is not reviewable, it can be overturned on review based on touching of the pass. By rule, pass interference cannot apply if a pass has been touched by any player before the foul occurs, and the touching of a pass is a reviewable call.

It was Mack Brown's red-headed step-child that purportedly touched the ball :slappy:
 
Upvote 0
Back
Top