• Follow us on Twitter @buckeyeplanet and @bp_recruiting, like us on Facebook! Enjoy a post or article, recommend it to others! BP is only as strong as its community, and we only promote by word of mouth, so share away!
  • Consider registering! Fewer and higher quality ads, no emails you don't want, access to all the forums, download game torrents, private messages, polls, Sportsbook, etc. Even if you just want to lurk, there are a lot of good reasons to register!

D1-A Football National Championships and SCUM-North

The AP (est. 1936), FWAA (est. 1954) and USA Today/CNN/ESPN (est. 1982) polls are the most commonly accepted national championship polls around. However, there are several other organizations that anoint their own national champion each year and by these standards, several schools can claim (dubious?) national championships of their own. SCUM-North being a prime example with their claim of 11 national championships (where's BayAreaWolverine with his obnoxious signature anyway?). By these loose standards, Yale (18 championships, "most recently" in 1927) and Princeton (17 championships, "most recently" in 1922) are 1-2 in championships won. Nevermind that football as it is played today didn't exist at the time.


In the AP-era, familiar to most fans whose schools have actually won championships that aren't accompanied by asterisks, Notre Dame (9) and Alabama/Oklahoma (7) are 1-2.

In that time, storied SCUM-North has won 1 outright national championship (1948) and split another (1997), although I believe they should have won 1997 outright as well.

Recruits that hear about 11 national championships should also be told that they're better off at the Yale and Princeton powerhouses that have more national championships.

Hail to the (once-every-half-century) victors indeed!
A ton of Meshitagain's "titles" were "awarded retroactively" by some nimrods who decided that someone 30-40 years prior to the polls had to be "crowned" a national champ for that year. Sort of like Princeton being national champs in 1869 when they were 1-1, and 1870, 1871, and 1872, when they were 1-0 all three years. Yeah, right...
Upvote 0