This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Plum Diamonds Lab Grown Diamond Rings
  2. Follow us on Twitter @buckeyeplanet and @bp_recruiting, like us on Facebook! Enjoy a post or article, recommend it to others! BP is only as strong as its community, and we only promote by word of mouth, so share away!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Consider registering! Fewer and higher quality ads, no emails you don't want, access to all the forums, download game torrents, private messages, polls, Sportsbook, etc. Even if you just want to lurk, there are a lot of good reasons to register!
    Dismiss Notice

Comparing Ohio State and Michigan Over Three Eras of CFB

Discussion in 'Buckeye Football' started by LordJeffBuck, Nov 24, 2022.

By LordJeffBuck on Nov 24, 2022 at 1:04 PM
  1. LordJeffBuck

    LordJeffBuck Illuminatus Emeritus Staff Member BP Recruiting Team

    In this article, I will look at Ohio State and Michigan during three Eras of college football: the Pre-Poll Era (from 1869 to 1935); the Poll Era (from 1936 to 1997); and the Playoff Era (1998 to present).

    During the Pre-Poll Era, all national championship recognized by the NCAA were awarded by historical committees after the fact.

    The Poll Era began in 1936 with the advent of the Associated Press (AP) Poll, which is still in existence. From 1936 to 1949, the NCAA recognizes the AP national champion as the sole national champion; and from 1950 to 1997 as one of the national championship selectors. The NCAA also recognizes national championships awarded by the following selectors: United Press International (UPI) coaches poll from 1950 to 1997; the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) from 1954 to 1997; and the National Football Foundation (NFF) from 1959 to 1997. During the 48 years of multiple national championship selectors, there were 15 split national championships, and twice the national championship was split three ways (1964; 1970).

    The Playoff Era began in 1998 with the BCS Championship, which was essentially a two-team playoff designed to settle all future national championship disputes. Despite the best efforts and intentions of the BCS and their computer models, there was still a split national championship in 2003, when the BCS awarded its championship to #2 Louisiana State (13-1 record, winner of the BCS Championship Game over #3 Oklahoma), while the AP and FWAA awarded their respective national championships to #1 Southern Cal (12-1 record, winner of Rose Bowl over #4 Michigan).

    The Playoff expanded from two teams to four teams in 2014, and thus far this expansion has prevented any further split national championships.

    A few additional notes: Unanimous national championships are in parentheses. Outright Big Ten titles are in parentheses. Consensus All Americans are those recognized by the NCAA. Vacated games and titles have been counted. The Heisman Trophy has been awarded from 1936 to present; the Maxwell Award from 1937 to present; the Outland Trophy from 1946 to present; and the Lombardi Award from 1970 to present.

    The Pre-Poll Era

    Michigan was clearly the dominant team in the Pre-Poll Era, with significant advantages in total wins (+75); winning percentage (+.118); Big Ten titles (+11); national championships (+7); and in The Game.

    TeamWin/Loss/TieWin PctThe GameWin PctPostseasonWin PctHeismanMaxwellOutlandLombardiCons AABig TenNational
    Michigan319-83-19.78022-8-2.7191-0-01.000n/an/an/an/a2215 (3)7 (3)
    Ohio State244-117-31.6628-22-2.2810-1-00.000n/an/an/an/a124 (3)none
    The Poll Era

    In many ways, the two teams were basically even during the Poll Era: wins; winning percentage; postseason games; All Americans; Big Ten titles; and in The Game. However, Ohio State held a significant advantage in major award winners (19 to 3) and in national championships (6 to 2).

    TeamWin/Loss/TieWin PctThe GameWin PctPostseasonWin PctHeismanMaxwellOutlandLombardiCons AABig TenNational
    Michigan457-171-17.72232-26-4.54813-15-00.46421004523 (12)2 (1)
    Ohio State456-159-22.73326-32-4.45213-16-00.44864455023 (12)6 (2)
    The Playoff Era

    Ohio State has clearly dominated in almost all categories during the Playoff Era: wins (+54); winning percentage (+.150); postseason (19 wins to 8 wins); All Americans (28 to 17); Big Ten titles (12 to 5 overall; 8 to 2 outright); national championships (two to zero); and especially in The Game (18-5 record; .783 winning percentage).

    TeamWin/Loss/TieWin PctThe GameWin PctPostseasonWin PctHeismanMaxwellOutlandLombardiCons AABig TenNational
    Michigan211-98-0.6835-18-0.2178-13-00.3810002175 (2)none
    Ohio State265-53-0.83318-5-0.78319-11-00.63310012812 (8)2 (2)
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2022
    Go Bucks!!!, pnuts34, Abenaki and 5 others like this.


Discussion in 'Buckeye Football' started by LordJeffBuck, Nov 24, 2022.

    1. Onebuckfan
      End of an Era today.
      brodybuck21 likes this.

Share This Page